Last Legs

The heap of kit in the corner of the bedroom is mounting.  Shoes running pair one, socks pairs x 3 of varying thickness, vests running two, headbands, pouch belt one, nutrition  (that will be food including the gorilla bites more akin to animal droppings), tracksuit top one, monitor heart rate one and watch GPS one.  I survey the mound with dismay and indecision. For the actual race all I need is shoes, socks, vest and shorts! No shorts in the pile – nylon with built in undies but no pockets or cotton with pockets but requiring wicking underwear to ward off the dreaded chaff – better find that jar of vaseline just in case.  All will be stuffed into a bag for the trip up to London this evening. No doubt it will be tipped onto the floor of the hotel room tomorrow morning for more angst about which items I’ll actually wear.

The indecision is a symptom of anxiety as the big day approaches.  I came down with a virus about 3 weeks ago just when training was supposed to peak and the taper begin.  Instead of a long final run and controlled taper I find myself trying to regain lost strength while tapering.  At one point I seriously considered pulling out – even as late as last weekend as the sore throat from the previous week had returned after each training session, a reminder that the lurgy was still lurking in my body. My legs were uncharacteristically sore even after short runs.   A combination of a comfortable 10k run, the BBC trailer for the Marathon with inspirational voice over and a very kind 90 year old neighbor who has sponsored me, made the decision GO FOR IT.

As for those legs they have had special treatment.  A trip to the physiotherapist pinched, squeezed and pummelled them.  Then to hold them together they have been wrapped in tape supposedly to to ease the stresses of 26 miles of pounding. It is in effect the markings of a special running tribe ‘Auldknackaris’ who are characterised with grey hair and wrinkles and red tape!   I’m hoping that not only will the tape provide extra spring but it may stop energy leaking away. Whatever happens in this race I’m determined to enjoy the event.

UzOglCJnThiriXdPo1khHw
Member of the Auldknackaris Tribe

Published by

GJM

On retirement still looking for a positive role in life it was either local politics or campaign for environmental change. I chose the environment but quickly found that campaigning involves mixing it with politicians. Frustrated by inaction and lack of public concern for the impact of climate change on future generations I have started to study a master’s degree in Sustainability and Behaviour Change with the Graduate School for the Environment which is part of the Centre for Alternative Technology.

2 thoughts on “Last Legs”

  1. I’m in awe Graham! Your blog makes me appreciate how much training and planning is involved, and how the slightest wrong ‘movement’ can set things back! But I have faith in your strength and determination! Go Graham Go! I’ll be looking out for you on the BBC! Run strong, Run safe!!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.